Change

Today was Weston’s first day of kindergarten, first day of “big kid school,”  first day riding the bus. Skyla started third grade yesterday. And after all the excitement settled down, I felt strangely a bit sad about it. The house seemed too quiet. I missed having them around, and on a different level, the idea that they’re just our little kids. I guess I wanted summer to last a little longer.

This afternoon, I walked down to meet them under 80-degree, brilliant blue skies. Walking back up to the house, Skyla reminded me that it’s almost chanterelle season. Both kids cheered at the thought of searching through the woods, and my spirits lifted. I may have a tough time with change, but the kids are already moving ahead, and thankfully, helping me along the way.

Leave a Reply

