Forest Gold

After the Oregon book events, I was happy to be home. Spent most of the weekend on farm and house chores, but found a little time to wander around in the woods in a driving rain storm. It felt great. The kids were at a birthday party and Stacy was at the farm, so I went looking for chanterelles at a very relaxed pace. Scouted a new spot (nothing), went to an old favorite (very few), and finally ended up at our most reliable area (a few more).

I’m not sure if there were pickers ahead of me or if the late arrival of our autumn rain kind of closed the window on chanterelles, but given the conditions, I thought I’d find more. Pretty tough. The ones I did find, though, were dandies. Mostly deep in the ferns, very few under the huckleberry shrubs or in more open spots. After a couple of hours I was soaking wet, covered with fir needles and carrying about a pound of chanterelles. Just enough for an awesome pizza (more on that in the next post) with some in reserve for salmon/chanterelle linguine later this week.

BOOK UPDATE: I will be at Village Books in Bellingham on Tuesday, October 30th at 7:00pm. Then at Orca Books in Olympia on Saturday, November 3rd at 3:00pm. Come on out if you can–I’d love to meet you in person. Also, I feel honored to have Closer to the Ground reviewed in Publishers Weekly today. Click HERE to read the review.

Leave a Reply

