Health Food

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stacy’s been trying to get me to eat kale for years now, and even though we grow it, I just haven’t ever developed a taste for it. But after spending a week with my dad helping him recover from open-heart surgery, I feel a renewed commitment to eating better. This is his recipe, and it’s the first time I’ve been able to consume kale and actually enjoy it–probably because you don’t taste the kale at all. Ha!

The smoothie is mostly kale and blueberries (frozen from last summer), along with whatever other fruit happens to be in the house. Today we had a banana and satsuma (exotic treats requested by the kids for their Christmas stockings) and I also threw in some old apples and frozen peach slices. The frozen fruit makes the drink. It’s almost like a milkshake or slurpee.

Spun it up for a minute on “liquify” and it was delicious. And with two “superfoods” in there, I think the extra fiber, vitamins and antioxidants can help keep us all healthier. Here’s to kale! (Now that’s something I never thought I’d say.)

2 Comments on “Health Food”

  1. kalamityk8 says:

    Hey Dylan, I can’t honestly say that Kale in a fruit smoothie sounds good, but I’d try it anyway. The only time I’ve had Kale that tasted great was at the Clay’s when Kateri made kale chips. Break the Kale into chip size bites, toss in olive oil and seasonings, then bake until they are crispy. Probably not as healthy as the smoothie, but they’re delicious!


Leave a Reply

