Little Free Libraries

KomedalRd.LFL

A couple weeks ago I read a story about these small library boxes people are putting up to share books around their neighborhoods. I thought it was such a great idea, I did a little more research and found out there’s actually an organization that helps people build and install the book boxes. And they feature a map where you can find Little Free Libraries anywhere in the world. Their website is HERE. The picture above is from a story about the rebuilding of a vandalized LFL on Inside Bainbridge.

Using the map, Skyla and I found a few “official” LFLs nearby, and also remembered the unofficial one that’s been up near Stacy’s parents’ house for years. So we decided to donate copies of Closer to the Ground to the Komedal Road, Shepard Path and Agate Loop “libraries.” I’ve heard there’s another one on the south end of the Island in Crystal Springs, but we couldn’t find it…if anyone has an address, let me know and we’ll drop off a book.

Here’s to a great idea and the hope that it keeps on growing.

4 Comments on “Little Free Libraries”

  1. Erin Block says:

    This is wonderful! I work as a librarian in Boulder and see there is one not too far off. I think I’ll stop by and make a donation of my own as well. Cheers, and thanks for this post!

    • dylantomine says:

      Great idea, Erin. We had a lot of fun finding the LFLs on the map and tracking them down. I’m hoping to come to Boulder sometime to do an event with Closer to the Ground. Seems like a good place for it. Perhaps at your library?

      Dylan

      • emblock says:

        Absolutely let me know if you get into the area. I work at the University of Colorado Boulder Library, and could certainly put you in touch with the person in charge of programming and such!

      • dylantomine says:

        Thanks, Erin. I will give a shout if it looks like we’re going to make it to your neck of the woods.


Leave a Reply

