Some Things Can’t Be Foraged

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pork ribs, for example. I know it’s a bit off topic for this blog, but I can’t help myself. I have a real weakness for ribs prepared just about any way–slow smoked ribs, grilled, boiled-then-barbecued, steamed Chinese style with black bean sauce and ginger, etc–but these are my favorites.

Mostly, I want to taste the pork itself, and I like to chew a bit rather than have them falling off the bone. So I use a really simple rub of brown sugar, garlic salt, Lawry’s salt and a little cayenne to taste. Rub it in the night before or early the day of, and store in the fridge. Then it’s low heat in the propane barbecue (2 of 3 burners on low) or about 25 briquettes to a side in the Weber kettle with a pan of water in the middle and a tray of whatever kind of wood chips you like. In the Weber, you can soak your wood chips and toss them on top of the charcoal from time to time, or make a foil pouch.

I like to cook at temperature where it’s producing plenty of smoke and I can still touch the outside of the barbecue without burning my hand. Probably about 225 to 250 degrees, but that’s just a guess. Anyway, two to two-and-a-half hours later, this is what they look like. And now I’m getting hungry just thinking about ribs. Time for dinner!

Leave a Reply

