Eggs For Breakfast

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was originally inspired by my buddy Neal in a true “why didn’t I think of that” moment. And then, when I was up on the Skeena a couple weeks ago, another buddy, YC, led the charge. It ended up being everyone’s breakfast of choice for days on end. And now, it continues, even at home.

Way I figure it, the Omega-3s from all those oil-rich salmon eggs offset the cholesterol in the chicken eggs. Or something like that. In any case, it’s absolutely delicious. All these years just putting my ikura on rice, crackers and toast…and now this. That’s an over-easy farm egg, and shortly after I snapped this picture, I slid the whole egg combo onto the toast and ate it as an open-face sandwich. It’s impossible to describe how good this tastes when the chicken egg yolk bursts and mixes with the rich salmon eggs, butter and crisp toast.

If you have eggs, give it a shot–you will not be disappointed. If you have access to good, dense, wholewheat sourdough bread (In this neck of the woods, I’m partial to our local Pane d’Amore’s version), even better. Man, at this rate, I’m going to be out of eggs pretty soon!

Leave a Reply

