It’s That Time Of Year

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The wind blows, trees fall, and I have to be ready to run out and procure next winter’s wood supply. And I’m still working at hauling away the rounds I left in our neighbor’s yard, too. Thankfully, they’re patient people. Slow going, but we’re getting there. Only four more cords and we should be good…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course, I also have to make space. So most mornings before work, I try to split a few rounds, and when the pile of split wood gets big enough, I spend a few sessions stacking. Good to get the blood pumping before work, since my unheated office is starting to get pretty chilly. Busting a few rounds staves off the fingers-too-stiff-to-type condition for at least an extra hour. Yet another way firewood keeps you warm.

Leave a Reply

