Sendfest

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Okay, I admit, I was a bit skeptical about taking an outdoor, inherently risky activity and turning it into a safe, indoor sport. I’m not a climber, but as a fisherman, it seemed a bit like taking the experience of fishing a mountain stream for wild trout and moving it to a swimming pool inside a mall.

But the kids love our local climbing gym, and it’s proven to be a great, physical activity, especially when we’re short on time and good weather. Still…a competition? Skyla said she wanted to compete in “Sendfest,” which I knew almost nothing about. She persisted and ignored any attempts on my part to dismiss it.

So…I caved. Last weekend I took her to the competition, and what an experience it turned out to be. Teams from all over the region descended on Island Rock Gym, and the vibe was pure fun. Skyla and her buddies joined the fray and spent the entire afternoon absorbed in solving route problems, sweating and smiling. It might not be “real” rock climbing, but it is something good. And I’m all for that.

 

2 Comments on “Sendfest”

  1. Lee Holt says:

    Thanks for sharing this. My three-year-old son is already climbing everything in sight, and I’m sure he’ll be looking for his own Sendfest before long.

    Before you know it, you’ll be building your kids their very own climbing wall at home (check out http://homerockclimbingwalls.com). And then you can title your next book “Farther from the Ground.”


Leave a Reply

