Ammunition

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I’m working on a novel. And even more surprising–at least to me–it’s going pretty well. But having not written long fiction before, I am trying to steep myself in as much information as possible. Primarily, the support, encouragement and advice from novelist friends, and reading as much good fiction as I can get my hands on.

But I figure a little real research wouldn’t hurt, either, so I’ve been dipping into a few “how-to” books. These were sent to me by my brother, Adrian, who writes and draws spectacular fiction. In fact, a few years back, he sent me the entire Paris Review series, which has been a fascinating read. The Wood book is a bit tougher–a pretty esoteric discussion of extremely fine points in fiction. I don’t know if I’m smart enough to actually implement what he talks about, but perhaps some of it will rub off on me just for reading it.

For a long-time non-fiction writer, the choices you get (or have) to make with each sentence are at times daunting and at others, remarkably freeing. I have no idea if what I’m writing is any good; it could be awesome or it could completely suck. But I do know I am thoroughly enjoying the process. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

