Surf-N-Turf Hauler

IMG_0389

My good friend Kate Taylor was passing through Seattle, carrying 30 pounds of elk meat for me (a treasured gift, for sure), plus my clam gun, which she “borrowed” a couple months back. I didn’t want to drive onto the ferry for such a short trip, and had to figure out how to haul it all back home on foot. So I grabbed my trusty Black Hole Wheeled Duffel and ran for the boat.

We met under the viaduct for a vaguely sketchy exchange. Well, okay, I didn’t have anything to give her, so it wasn’t exactly an “exchange,” but meeting in a trash-strewn downtown alley to load black plastic garbage bags from her truck into my wheelie definitely felt shady. Then, in a completely unplanned bit of perfection, I discovered that the clam gun fit through the end grip and roller handle of the duffel, locking it in place for transport. Awesome. Quick hugs and I was on my way…with a brief stop for Thai food to go, which is where I took the picture. Hey, gotta make the most of any trip into the city…

On the ferry home, my luggage was the subject of several comments and questioning looks, but I was stoked, rolling along, to quote Bob Dylan, with one hand waving free. My guess is that whoever designed the bag never had 30 pounds of frozen elk steaks and a clam gun in mind, but the fit was so perfect, it sure seemed like it.

Leave a Reply

